General and I 孤芳不自赏 (A Lonesome Fragrance Waiting to be Appreciated) – 2017 Cdrama

This drama starring Wallace Chung and Angelababy is based on a book by Feng Nong 风弄. The book is titled A Lonesome Fragrance Waiting to be Appreciated and I have put a link to read the english translated chapters here – don’t read it if you don’t want spoilers to the drama. general2band2bi2b23

It is about a maid called Bai Ping Ting (Angelababy) who is intelligent and smart, earning the title female Zhu Ge (a genius strategist during the Three Kingdoms era). She meets a brilliant warrior (Wallace Chung) who has never lost a battle, and becomes attracted to him despite being the enemy. Sadly, the star-crossed lovers’ disparate positions put them at odds with each other at a time when the four warring states of Jin, Yan, Liang and Qin are in constant turmoil.

This drama is set for 62 episodes and I’ve been religiously watching the released eps on Youtube (raw).

Below are the main characters starring in this drama and I’ve listed them in the caption below:

general2band2bi2b0
Left-right: Sima Hong (Yu Bo), Royal Consort Zhang (Deng Sha), Chu Bei Jie (William Chung), Pei Bing Ting (Angelababy), Feng Yang (Medina Memet), Ze Yi (Qi Hang), He Xia (Sun Yizhou), Yao Tian (Gan Tingting)

Seeing Medina Memet (dressed in white) here was a surprise because I loved her from Ice Fantasy. Also, Gan Ting Ting (red) was my fave actress from the drama Hua Xu Yin: City of Desperate Love where she acted as the mermaid Murong An. The cast is superb and since I’m regularly up to date with the episodes, I’m so glad that this drama is not flopping unlike Angelababy’s previous drama Song in the Clouds which was also overly hyped. But I have faith in Wallace Chung because I loved him in My Sunshine (with Tiffany Tang).

45batch-7Since I have read the whole book this drama is based on, I know what happens but I’m still so excited to see it in action. I’m truly anticipating the love scenes between the two main characters and the fight scenes between the men! Also, I hope Bai Pingting will still stay as an intelligent and strong character and won’t change herself to becoming a weak person (which happened with Princess Weiyoung).

Fingers crossed this drama will continue on a high!!!!

5 thoughts on “General and I 孤芳不自赏 (A Lonesome Fragrance Waiting to be Appreciated) – 2017 Cdrama

  1. I am on ep 29 and it is getting so good!! Ba Ping Ting is so much stronger than Weiyoung! But she constantly breaks Chu Bai Jie heart! The poor guy doesn’t get a break. Their long separation is coming up soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was led here by the Drama and my thirst to know more about Wallace Chung. You were right . This Drama was a roller coaster of feels. Wallace Chung and Angela Baby had this superb chemistry and the love scenes did not dissapoint. It would be hard after the Drama is done. Right now I can say that Wallace Chung was a superb cast for the role of CBJ- the raw emotions in his face- that look when he gazes at BPT- that he LOVES as fiercely as much as he fights- makes him such a charismatic figure- BPT was his Achilles . His Waterloo..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

